Morrisons Fish and Chips

MorrisonsBefore I came to Surrey I was a dyed in the wood Sainsbury’s girl. Ever since I was dragged round Sainsbury’s in Cheam every Friday night by my parents,  my sister and I taking it in turns to trolley surf down the  aisles, I’ve believed Sainsbury’s to be THE Supermarket. Imagine my horror when I moved to Surrey and found that the nearest Supermarket to me was MORRISONs. ‘EWWW’ as all the teenagers say today.

However, I’ve really warmed to Morrisons. I love that new misty counter with all the exotic veg, the fish counter and the amazing meat counter ( horse meat free)  and I have to say that the staff have been unfailingly helpful when I can’t find one of those essential but obscure  ingredients that I need for the new 2 hour ( 30 minute) Jamie Oliver recipe.

Morrisons Misty counter 3 Morrisons misty counter 2

So, I’ve been house and flat hunting with my dear old mum and as we had a gap between viewings last Friday we thought we’d go and have something to eat. Conveniently Morrisons was on the way to the next viewing and I’ve always wondered what their food is like, so we ventured in.

After scrutinising the menu for a while I was going to plump for the Hot Pot as I fancied  good old meat and potatoes…. comfort food. However I realised that the calories were in brackets after the item and Hot Pot was 919 Calories. Phew, I thought , I know that I’m training for a 10K at the moment but what with all the chocolate I’m eating I can’t really justify 919 calories in the middle of the day. So I then spied Morrisons Award Winning Mini Fish and Chips at only 510 calories ( the larger version is over 700 calories). Sold! Mum and I both decided on the same thing and we had a cup of tea to accompany it.

Morrisons menu 3 Morrisons Menu 1

While we were waiting for the fish and chips to arrive I asked a very sweet waitress if there was any WiFi. She went off to find out and they did have WiFi but no password?? So I thought ok I’ll try it anyway and lo and behold they do have WiFi and you don’t need a password. Great! that meant I could play my word game while listening to mum talk about the bowling club.

The fish and chips arrived piping hot with mushy peas for me and normal peas for mum. The fish was delicious with a light batter and I have to say the mushy peas were probably the best I have tasted, they really were good. The chips were also crisp and fluffy. It was also a very generous portion for a mini meal and I really didn’t need to eat a big meal at the end of the day. The Tea was standard ,but not bad.

Morrisons Restaurant

This picture was to show the restaurant I hope these two lovely ladies don’t mind being in my blog!

All in all I’d eat at Morrisons again. The fish and chips were much better than I expected, in fact they were very good I’m throwing the gauntlet down to The Ketch, Seafarer and dare I say it Sainsbury’s to see if they can match the quality. I liked the fact they display the calories for each meal and there is a good variety to choose from. The staff were friendly and approachable and Fish and Chips for two with a mug of tea came to just over £8, bargain!! The only thing I could pick holes in is  the ambience, but if you are going to eat in a supermarket you can hardly expect chandeliers and moody lighting.

Here’s the link to find out more http://www.morrisons.co.uk/Store-Finder/Store-Details/?recordid=367

Morrisons Fish and Chips gets a double Thunderbolt rating – very good

2 bolts

Leave a comment